ravenously

food.

leave a comment »

On Thursday, I cut up some of my Early Girl tomatoes and black pear heirloom tomatoes into a salad with fresh mozzarella from Cowgirl Creamery in the Ferry Building. I also added fresh basil, salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar, and hazelnut oil. (I was held up on the bus by two shouting women–one fat lady shouting at one Chinese lady to “go back to China” so I missed my usual bus home and decided to stop by the Ferry Building.)

On Friday, Rahul and I infuriated waiters by eating one $3 taco each, with glasses of water, before the Teenage Fanclub concert at Bimbo’s.

On Saturday, I cooked tomato scrambled eggs and fried polenta, and we went to see Cyrano de Bergerac and ate trail mix.

On Sunday I ate with my parents at a vegetarian Chinese restaurant. It was OK. We had Hong Kong-style desserts afterwards that were wonderful:

Mango pudding with frozen coconut milk on top
Chilled liquidy/cornstarchy mango pudding with tapioca
watermelon juice with blended frozen coconut milk on top

I cooked some tomato sauce thickened with almond butter and creme fraiche and laced with basil, shallots and red bell peppers (sort of a deconstructed Romesco). It was a bit too rich.

Written by orata

August 8, 2005 at 12:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

