ravenously

food.

foods

leave a comment »

The other night, I decided to un-veg and try buffalo for the first time: specifically, the buffalo burgers at Upland Brewery (when Kyle was visiting, the weekend of January 5th). They were pretty good, but I realized I hadn’t had a beef hamburger in so long, I wasn’t sure what the difference in flavor was between the two.

Anyway–I’m enjoying my leftovers today for lunch, along with some food I made last night:

Sauteed Brussels sprouts and Apples

1 bag brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved

1 Red Delicious apple, peeled and cubed (wouldn’t have been my first choice, but Rahul’s mom gave me three Red Delicious apples when we were leaving after Christmas and I don’t really like to eat them–hence I’m trying to cook them)

1.5 white onions, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp butter

Apple cider

Apple cider vinegar

Soy sauce

Salt

Pepper

Melt 1 Tbsp butter in a heavy pan over medium-low heat and put in the onions and garlic. Season with the cider vinegar, salt, and pepper. Cook for about 20-30 mins, or until the onions are more or less caramelized. Add the apples and sprouts, the rest of the butter, the soy sauce, and the cider. Cook for a while longer, until the vegetables are tender. Deglaze the pan with a little water if necessary to get all the browned goodness off the bottom.

Corn pudding

Beat two eggs with about 1/2 to 1 cup soy milk. Season with salt, pepper, sugar, and dried dill. Add two small cans of yellow kernel corn. Bake in a 350-degree oven for about 1 hr or until set.

Rahul also made lentils (with onion, garlic, and carrot) and brown rice.

Today, for lunch, I discarded the bun and sodden lettuce from my buffalo burger and chopped the patty into little pieces. I mixed it with the brown rice and ate a generous helping of brussels sprouts and apples on top. I am also having a cup of coffee from a coffee house in Cape Girardeau, with vanilla soy creamer. Tasty stuff for a rainy day.

Written by orata

January 10, 2008 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

