ravenously

food.

Jerusalem artichoke soup and roasted broccoli

leave a comment »

The two biggest and loveliest food revelations of the past week or so:

Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

OK, I won’t lie, this lived up to its reputation and kind of gave me a gassy stomachache from the inulin. I guess I’m not one of those lucky souls who can digest it well. But it was delicious, with a complex, earthy, addictive taste, like poor man’s truffles (except I don’t even like truffles as much). I will enjoy it again in the future in moderation. The artichokes were tasteless and crunchy when raw; the beautiful flavor only came out once they were cooked.

I washed them, cut them into pieces (not minced or anything, just slices) without peeling, and pan-fried them with olive oil and garlic. I forget if I added onion or not, but I’m sure it would go well with them too. Once the pieces of artichoke were a little bit brown, I added hot fake chicken broth to cover by about 1/2 inch, seasoned with salt, pepper, and thyme, then covered the pot and simmered for a while, until the artichokes were soft. I pureed the soup at the end with a stick blender and dressed each bowl with a little bit of toasted sesame oil and half and half. It was so good.

Roasted Broccoli (from Cook’s Illustrated)

Cut a head of broccoli into wedges, peeling the stem before cutting into pieces. Place a rimmed baking sheet in the oven and turn to 500 degrees to preheat.

Toss the broccoli with salt, pepper, olive oil (3 Tbsp per head) and sugar. Place on the baking sheet in an even layer and roast for 9-11 minutes. Remove, and dress with a spritz of lemon juice.

We had this with anelli pasta and pan-fried pieces of chicken sausage, tossed with olive oil and a Mrs. Dash clone from Trader Joe’s, and couldn’t believe how yummy the broccoli was after such a simple treatment. I already loved roasted cauliflower, but this roasted broccoli recipe actually comes out just as good.

Written by orata

November 2, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Leave a Reply

