ravenously

food.

Beefing up my iron levels

leave a comment »

I made a weird but more-ish dish the other day because I was scheduled to give blood and have had slightly low iron several times in the past and been unable to donate–I figured I’d eat some good red meat the night before and try to bump my blood iron levels back up.

Put a little oil in a skillet and brown a package of ground beef on medium heat, breaking it up into crumbles with a spatula. Chop up 1 bunch of scallions and cook them in the oil from the ground beef until they are soft and starting to turn brown. Add a small amount of Szechuan peppercorns (I overdid it–probably 1/4 tsp would be enough), hot red chili pepper flakes, soy sauce, salt, and sugar. Add a spoonful of pine nuts and let them toast in the pan. Drizzle toasted sesame oil over the top, then chop fresh cilantro and stir it in.

In the meantime, stab a spaghetti squash a few times Norman Bates-style and microwave for 15 minutes. 

De-seed the spaghetti squash and add the shredded “spaghetti” to the skillet. Stir everything around together. Eat.

It worked like a charm. Iron level needed to be 12.1, and this time I was at 13.5. Also, I think those green smoothies are doing wonders (though it might be the yoga)–my blood pressure normally hovers around 120 over 80, and has been there for years; this time it was 98 over 68. 

Written by orata

March 25, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

