ravenously

food.

Whole30, Day 1: A Farewell to Ice Cream, Mason Jar Salads, Muffin-Type Things, Roast Chicken

with one comment

We plan to do Whole30 for the month of June. We spent some time on Sunday, May 31, preparing for the next few days:

We said goodbye haphazardly to various beloved foods: I had a bit of pasta primavera, and coffee with cream, and we went out to lunch where I ate a salmon salad that would have been Whole30-compliant aside from the dressing. We shared a scoop of pecan praline ice cream at the student union in the afternoon. We ate a dinner that was chock-full of forbidden foods–beef bulgogi (the sauce has sugar and soy in it, both of which are forbidden), a salad with feta cheese (dairy), sevai (handmade Indian rice/coconut vermicelli–rice is not allowed), and coconut chutney (the only food from this meal that is OK with Whole30, actually).

We cleaned out our fridge, and went to the grocery store to buy a bunch of Whole30-friendly foods. The checkout guy asked us about three times to identify vegetables we were buying (Romaine lettuce, cilantro, redleaf lettuce) and then told us we won the Healthiest Customers award. A good sign, I think! I found out that almost every brand of frozen hash brown potatoes contains added starches or sugars or carrageenan, but did manage to find a brand that contains just potatoes.

I weighed in so I’ll be able to do a before-and-after for the diet, and felt quite depressed about my weight. More than that, I felt bad about my sense of discomfort in my own body at the moment, underscored by the number on the scale. In the past 6 months or so, fuelled by a winter of continuous eating in unhealthy food destinations like Montreal and New Orleans, and less than continuous exercise, I’ve gained about 10+ pounds from where I’d like my ideal weight to be, and I can feel it in my midsection, making me uncomfortable. I don’t think I’m particularly fat, by general societal standards–I wear about a size 6 or 8–but I just don’t feel quite right in my own skin at the moment. Anyway, part of Whole30 involves not weighing yourself for the month, so I’m giving myself permission to not think about it till July–and hopefully I’ll feel better by then, with weight loss as a corollary to generally feeling healthier.

I cooked up a few slices of steak and made two Mason jar salads for us: a simple olive oil-red wine vinegar vinaigrette at the bottom, topped with chopped steak, raw broccoli, carrot slices, celery slices, toasted pumpkin seeds, and romaine lettuce.


I also made some muffin-y things for myself that I figured I could use for either snacks or breakfast through the week. Here’s the recipe:

Whole30 Breakfast Muffins Which I Am Probably Not Supposed to Call Muffins Because of Some Bullshit Rule About Not Making Things To Imitate Baked Goods

Frozen shredded hash browns with no extra ingredients (just potatoes), or grated fresh potato

1 sweet onion, diced

1 large zucchini, diced

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2 leaves kale, chopped

About 1 Tbsp fresh basil leaves, minced

Coconut oil

Salt

Pepper

Dried red pepper flakes

10 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with silicone muffin cups*. Grease with coconut oil and press the frozen hash browns into the bottom of the muffin cups. Put in the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

In the meantime, saute the onion and bell pepper over medium heat until the onion is translucent. Add the zucchini and kale and cook, stirring occasionally, until the zucchini starts to brown. Season with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

Divide the vegetable mixture among the muffin cups. Beat the eggs, season with salt and pepper, and divide among the muffin cups.

Bake for another 15 minutes or so, until the eggs are set.

* I baked these right in the tin instead of using muffin pan liners. Big mistake, lots of egg clung to the sides and bottom so post-extraction, each muffin is about 3/4 the size it might appear to be in the tin.
These are tasty and full of vegetables and protein. Pretty happy with them. The potato shreds were probably not necessary, though–might skip them next time, shred them finer to make a more cohesive crust, or do something like subbing in a slice of sweet potato at the bottom.

Day 1: 

I don’t feel terribly deprived, probably because I did a good job prepping for today and my willpower is currently strong. I probably need to get more bananas/make some hard-boiled eggs for snacks. Or remember that we have nuts to snack on.

Breakfast: 

lots of coffee with coconut milk

2 muffin things

Lunch: 

Mason jar salad

Snacks:

Banana

Coconut butter with cashews

Dinner:

Roast Chicken

1 whole chicken (I think it was about 5 lbs?)

Salt

Pepper

1 lemon, zested and chopped

1 sweet onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp fresh oregano leaves, minced

1 potato, chopped roughly

2 carrots, chopped roughly

3 Tbsp ghee

Brine whole chicken in a pot of water with a bunch of salt dumped in for a couple of hours.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Use 1 Tbsp ghee to grease the bottom of a large, deep cast-iron skillet. Scatter the carrots, potatoes, and most of the onions across the bottom of the pan and season with salt and pepper.

Remove chicken from brining solution and pat dry with paper towels. Rub with ghee, salt, pepper, fresh oregano, lemon zest, and minced garlic, sticking the herbs and garlic under the skin and inside the body cavity as well. Squeeze lemon juice over the chicken. Insert the squeezed lemon pieces and leftover onion pieces into the body cavity of the chicken.

Place in the oven and roast for about 1h 15 mins; flip chicken over so the skin on the other side can brown, return to oven for about 10 minutes.

Written by orata

June 1, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Posted in recipes, whole30

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the “muffin” recipe! I’ll try this but call if “fuffins”- fake muffins!

    saidhmmm

    June 2, 2015 at 12:11 am


Leave a Reply

