ravenously

food.

Whole30, Day 2: The Spiralizer Enters My Home

leave a comment »

Day 2. I woke up after about three and a half hours of sleep and couldn’t go back to sleep afterwards. Rahul says it’s probably because now my body is an efficient machine that doesn’t need sleep. I didn’t feel like I needed a nap, though, so there’s that!

Anecdotal evidence: people have told me about asthma symptoms and joint problems being cured through this diet. Surely I will emerge from this month transformed, shiny and chrome. Witness me!

Breakfast:

A green smoothie with kale, frozen blueberries, frozen bananas, almonds, and water

A handful of almonds

Coffee with coconut milk

Lunch:

Mason jar salad with vinaigrette, roast chicken pieces from yesterday’s dinner, raw broccoli, celery, pepitas, blueberries, and redleaf lettuce

An extra handful of blueberries

Snack (got pretty hungry by mid-afternoon):

A spoonful of coconut butter and some almond slivers

One egg muffin thing

Dinner:

Perch dipped in egg and coconut flour and pan-fried, and mashed avocado. Almonds.

I ordered the Food52 Genius Recipes cookbook along with a veggie spiralizer from Amazon and they both arrived today. I’m a little afraid to read the cookbook now because I’m afraid I’ll desperately want to cook whatever is in there–diet be damned. I am already looking at what appears to be spaghetti with Marcella Hazan’s butter-and-onion tomato sauce on the cover (sprinkled with coarse-grated Parmesan, to boot) and drooling a little.

I also had to avoid the strange temptation of Chips Ahoy cookies stuffed with Oreo filling at band practice.

I haven’t tried the spiralizer yet! Perhaps I can make spiralized zucchini spaghetti with ghee, tomato, and onion sauce.

Written by orata

June 3, 2015 at 12:10 am

Posted in recipes, whole30

Tagged with

Leave a comment