ravenously

food.

Whole30, Day 4: downwards spiral

leave a comment »

I woke up exhausted and late because I was up into the wee hours of the morning finishing some work, and my feeling of malaise and fatigue continued through the day. I was also starving all day aside from about 5 minutes after I finished my lunch! Maybe this is the “hangover” we are supposed to be getting. I couldn’t stop thinking about food. The hunger and exhaustion probably have something to do with biking for several hours on my new exercise bike desk, too.


I made it through my first out-of-the-house temptation–we went to a standup comedy show, where I was offered onion rings and drinks, and stuck cheaply and stubbornly to drinking club soda with lime.

The high point of my day in food: I finally used the spiralizer and it is SO MUCH FUN. I literally laughed out loud with delight, like a child, when I used it for the first time. Just look at how long these zucchini spirals are!

The spiralizer stabilizes the food on a circular hole and leaves behind a weird core that looks something like a geoduck siphon.


Breakfast:
Coffee with coconut milk

Lunch: 

Gala apple

Mason jar salad: vinaigrette, canned salmon, artichoke hearts, celery, blueberries, slivered almonds, arugula, romaine lettuce. This one was pretty delicious. I’m finding that make-ahead salads motivate me to eat salad far more than having to make one when I’m hungry. I also like being able to shake up the jar to toss the salad instead of having to toss it in a bowl, where I inevitably lose pieces of lettuce over the sides and wind up with unevenly distributed dressing.

Snacks:

Freeze-dried mango

2 crispy fried eggs with sesame oil, red pepper flakes, and salt

Jackfruit chips

Dinner:

I finally tried Marcella Hazan’s much-lauded tomato, butter, and onion sauce! It’s pretty tasty–adding a ton of butter (or, in this case, Whole30-approved grassfed organic ghee) does a lot to boost the flavor of a sauce. I will probably try it again some other time without the turkey.

Marcella Hazan’s Tomato and Butter Sauce with Ground Turkey and Zucchini Spirals

2 zucchinis, spiralized on the fine setting

1 large can tomatoes or 2 cups chopped fresh tomatoes

5 Tbsp ghee

1 onion, peeled and halved

Salt

1 package ground turkey

Coconut oil

Combine the tomatoes, ghee, onion, and salt in a saucepan and simmer for 45 minutes on low heat. In a separate pan, brown the ground turkey in coconut oil and add it to the sauce once browned. Microwave the zucchini for 60 seconds. Serve the zucchini with the sauce and a portion of the stewed onion.


Written by orata

June 5, 2015 at 12:46 am

Posted in recipes, whole30

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

