ravenously

food.

Whole30, Day 15: The Halfway Point

with 2 comments

Spent almost all day terribly hungry again.

Breakfast:

Coffee with almond milk

Poached scrambled eggs (this is officially my new favorite method of scrambling eggs) with green tomatillo salsa

Lunch:

A salad with mixed greens, vinaigrette, hard-boiled egg, canned salmon, and artichoke hearts

Snacks:

Blueberries

Leftover meatballs with tomato sauce

Jackfruit chips

Dinner:

Chicken soup

Fried chicken skin

  
Chicken Soup and Chicken Skin

6 skin-on chicken thighs

1 yellow onion, diced

2 carrots, sliced

2 ribs celery, sliced

2 bay leaves

Salt

2 Yukon Gold potatoes, diced

Remove the chicken skin and any visible lumps of fat and set these aside. Add everything but the potatoes to a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 2 hours. Add the potatoes and simmer for another 20 minutes or so, till the potatoes are tender. Remove the bay leaves and chicken bones.

For the chicken skin, put the skin and fat in a cold cast-iron skillet over medium heat. The chicken fat will render out and the skin will start to get brown and crispy. Turn it over when the time seems right and cook till both sides are crispy. Season with salt.

Crumble some of the chicken skin into the chicken soup. Eat the rest. It’s like pork rinds but made of chicken (so it’s healthy? haha. But I wouldn’t have thought twice about the calories in that chicken skin if it were pan-fried instead… and a lot of the fat was rendered out and stayed in the skillet.)

So, ignoring my possible bacon slip-up yesterday, I’m at the halfway point for this diet. My thoughts so far: I feel good, physically, but it’s not the transcendent experience I feel like it’s been made out to be–I don’t think I have any particular allergies or sensitivities, honestly. But it feels great to be chock full of vegetables, protein, and fat, with far fewer carbs in my diet than I’m used to eating. I don’t know if I’ve lost any weight–I feel a bit leaner but I don’t think the pounds are melting off or anything.

Aside from adding dairy back in, I think I’d like to continue eating Whole30-style for the most part when cooking at home. I think this has transformed my subconscious idea that grains should be the center of a meal, dressed up with accoutrements–I realized I’m pretty much just as happy substituting in cauliflower for a lot of grains, or having meat and vegetables without adding pasta or dinner rolls or what have you. I also think cheese is a big shortcut for flavor; while I do want it back in my life again, we’ve had some great meals without dumping Parmesan or feta or cheddar all over everything to make it taste wonderful, and I think it’s good to explore other ways of making flavorful food for a while instead of always relying on cheese.

But I am really looking forward to July and having some sushi and spaghetti and fried cheese curds and ice cream and beer. Maybe not all at once.

Written by orata

June 16, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Posted in recipes, whole30

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What is a poached scrambled egg!?

    N

    June 16, 2015 at 10:48 pm

    • I wrote about it in my previous post–basically poaching beaten eggs instead of whole ones! Makes a quick, tender, creamy scrambled egg.

      orata

      June 16, 2015 at 11:44 pm


Leave a Reply

