ravenously

food.

Whole30, Day 21: A Near-Miss

leave a comment »

I had a very busy day yesterday, playing two shows at a music festival with Gentle Brontosaurus. I ate:

Breakfast:

Banana

Coffee

Lunch:

Potato salad

Cauliflower salad

(both recipes here)

Watermelon

Snacks:

Almonds, pistachios, cashews

Coconut butter

Dinner:

Sexy spicy broccoli

Guacamole (fresh cubes of avocado and tomato, mixed with minced onion, salt, chopped fresh cilantro, and lime zest and juice)

Sausage

I had a very near miss at dinner, though–I’d been craving tacos all afternoon, so when I got home, along with the guacamole, I made a bunch of taco meat–chopped and sauteed some onion, then added ground chicken, taco seasoning, salt, and fresh tomato and cooked it up. I got so far as taking a photo and then it occurred to me to check the label on the taco seasoning. Second ingredient: wheat flour. I had wrongly assumed it would be just a mixture of spices.

 

I really wanted to eat this

 
At this point, having been out and about from about 10:30 to 9 PM, having played 2 1-hour sets on opposite sides of town, and gone to walk the dog we were dogsitting before even getting home and starting to cook, I was exhausted, hungry, and ready to just eat the taco meat anyway. My husband saved the day by pointing out we could keep it in the fridge or freeezer till Whole30 was over, and then he cooked up some sausages for us to replace the protein while I sat on the couch and thought longingly about tacos.

Every last little bit of the potato salad and cauliflower salad were eaten up at the potluck. It was lucky I brought them because there was almost nothing else there I could eat–a tasty-looking chickpea and bell pepper salad, quinoa salad, pulled pork, potato chips… etc., etc. I did have several slices of watermelon and some nice unsweetened iced tea flavored with berries, mint, and lemon.

Written by orata

June 22, 2015 at 11:09 am

Posted in whole30

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

