ravenously

food.

lengua

leave a comment »

I made beef tongue for the first time last night/today and was astonished at how easy it was. My grandma always used to make beef tongue congee for me when I was little, and my favorite tacos are lengua tacos, but I had never done it from scratch before.

I took the whole frozen tongue and put it in the slow cooker with about 4 peeled garlic cloves, a bay leaf, and a peeled/trimmed/halved red onion, and covered it with boiling water. I set it to “low” and let it cook overnight. The next day, I took it out, peeled it (gave the skin to the cat), cut it into cubes, and pan-fried it with a little sliced garlic and salt and pepper over medium-high heat, with a bit of grapeseed oil. It developed an amazing brown crust and was ready in about 5 minutes.

Festival Foods was out of cilantro (!!) when we went shopping, so I had my lengua tacos with corn tortillas (microwaved for 45 seconds under a damp paper towel), sour cream, thinly sliced red onion, and lime juice. So damn good. I also had some of the tongue-stewing broth for breakfast with a dash of soy sauce and dry toast crumbled into it.

 

Written by orata

May 11, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Posted in recipes

Leave a Reply

